Country, Country-Pop, Contemporary Country, Adult Contemporary

Album Review

Spurred on by George Bush's unofficial adoption of "God Bless the USA" as the new American anthem, Lee Greenwood recorded American Patriot in the midst of the President's (ultimately unsuccessful) re-election campaign in 1992. American Patriot sealed Greenwood's stance as American songteller extraordinaire. Every song on the album is, unsurprisingly, about America, from "The Pledge of Allegiance" and "The Star Spangled Banner" to "God Bless America" and "God Bless the USA." Of course, Woody Guthrie's populist anthem "This Land Is Your Land" takes on a different meaning in this context, but that's not surprising -- American Patriot is a slick, satisfied album designed for the modern-day patriot and conservative, not for dust bowl activists or smugly sophisticated liberals. In other words, if you've been a fan of "God Bless the USA" since its first incarnation in the early '80s, you'll be happy with this full-blown sequel.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Pledge of Allegiance
  2. America
  3. God Bless the U.S.A.
  4. This Land Is Your Land
  5. The Battle Hymn of the Republic
  6. God Bless America
  7. Dixie
  8. The Great Defenders
  9. America the Beautiful
  10. The Star Spangled Banner