RELEASE
July 10, 2007
LABEL
Warner Bros.
GENRES
Country, Contemporary Country, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Honky Tonk, New Traditionalist

Album Review

History may indeed be kinder to Tracy Lawrence than anyone thought. Sure, there are the eight million albums, and seven number one singles in the country charts, but while Garth Brooks and Clint Black are considered legends, Lawrence would seem to be forgotten by all but the most faithful. Truth is, Lawrence is a better -- and purer -- country singer than both put together. It seems that no less than an authority than Rhino Records, the gold standard in reissues, sees that too. This massive 21-cut collection documents his biggest selling years at Atlantic beginning with 1991's Sticks and Stones, and continues through his 2003 DreamWorks release Strong. The singles are all here, but it goes deeper than that. There are four cuts each from Sticks and Stones, Alibis, I See It Now, and Time Marches On. From 1991-1993, Lawrence was always near the top of the charts either with singles or albums. That's an excellent run. That the industry in Nashville moved away from neo-traditionalism and toward pop and rock has no bearing on the quality of his work; indeed, 2007's For the Love, released on the tiny Rocky Comfort imprint, stands with his best material. The time is right for this kind of retrospective, where listeners can encounter a modern version of a real country singer. In addition to more than an hour's worth of great music, Melinda Newman's liner notes are exhaustive and engaging, adding to the true definitive nature of this collection.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Sticks and Stoneshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sticks-and-stones/id258933197?i=258933251&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Today's Lonely Foolhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/todays-lonely-fool/id258933197?i=258933276&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Runnin' Behindhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/runnin-behind/id258933197?i=258933291&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Somebody Paints the Wallhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/somebody-paints-the-wall/id258933197?i=258933308&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Alibishttp://itunes.apple.com/album/alibis/id258933197?i=258933367&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Can't Break It to My Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/cant-break-it-to-my-heart/id258933197?i=258933383&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. My Second Homehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-second-home/id258933197?i=258933453&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. If the Good Die Younghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-the-good-die-young/id258933197?i=258933463&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Renegades, Rebels and Rogueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/renegades-rebels-and-rogues/id258933197?i=258933468&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. I See It Nowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-see-it-now/id258933197?i=258933518&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. As Any Fool Can Seehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/as-any-fool-can-see/id258933197?i=258933582&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Texas Tornadohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/texas-tornado/id258933197?i=258933622&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. If the World Had a Front Porchhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-the-world-had-a-front-porch/id258933197?i=258933678&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. If You Loved Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-you-loved-me/id258933197?i=258933691&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Time Marches Onhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/time-marches-on/id258933197?i=258933766&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Stars Over Texashttp://itunes.apple.com/album/stars-over-texas/id258933197?i=258933824&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. Is That a Tearhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/is-that-a-tear/id258933197?i=258933852&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Better Man, Better Offhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/better-man-better-off/id258933197?i=258933949&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. How a Cowgirl Says Goodbyehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/how-a-cowgirl-says-goodbye/id258933197?i=258933968&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. Lessons Learnedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lessons-learned/id258933197?i=258933993&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. Paint Me a Birminghamhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-very-best-tracy-lawrence/id258933197?uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album