March 28, 1969
Blues, Jump Blues, West Coast Blues, Regional Blues

Album Review

Although its programming has been juggled a bit, and the CD has been given liner notes, this Delmark release is a straight reissue of the original LP. Clocking in at around 38 minutes, the relatively brief set is the only recording that exists of Vinson, pianist Jay McShann, and guitarist T-Bone Walker playing together; the sextet is rounded out by the fine tenor Hal Singer, bassist Jackie Sampson, and drummer Paul Gunther. Vinson, whether singing "Plese Send Me Somebody to Love," "Just a Dream," and "Juice Head Baby" or taking boppish alto solos, is the main star throughout this album (originally on Black & Blue), a date that helped launch Vinson's commercial comeback.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Somebody's Gotta Go
  2. Old Kidney Stew Is Fine
  3. Juice Head Baby
  4. Wait a Minute Baby
  5. I'm in an Awful Mood
  6. Just a Dream (On My Mind)
  7. Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  8. Old Maid Boogie
  9. Wee Baby Blues
  10. Please Send Me Someone to Love