January 19, 1993
Country, Contemporary Country, Neo-Traditionalist Country

Album Review

Like the dark, cathartic Interiors, The Wheel is an introspective, soul-searching set of confessional songs revolving around love and relationships. While many of the themes and emotions of Interiors are repeated on The Wheel, Rosanne Cash hasn't repeated herself, either lyrically or musically. Working from the same combination of folk and country that has fueled her songwriting throughout her career, she has created an album of subtle, melodic grace that helps convey the deep feelings of her lyrics. It's an immaculately produced album, but that never detracts from the emotional core of Cash's music.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Wheel
  2. Seventh Avenue
  3. Change Partners
  4. Sleeping in Paris
  5. You Won't Let Me In
  6. From the Ashes
  7. The Truth About You
  8. Tears Falling Down
  9. Roses in the Fire
  10. Fire of the Newly Alive
  11. If There's a God on My Side
purchase full album