Rocket Science
Country, Christmas, Holidays, Contemporary Country

Album Review

Veteran contemporary country star Tracy Lawrence quietly slipped this ten-song seasonal collection out for the fans in 2007, but found success with it a year later. Eight of these tunes are familiar Christmas standards such as "Frosty the Snowman," "White Christmas," Mel Tormé's ubiquitous "Christmas Song," and others. But the real standouts on this collection are the two tunes by Flip Anderson and Kenny Beard. Bob Wills could have done the opening title track, as it walks the Western swing fence in a straight line with some killer pedal steel work. Add to this Anderson's co-write with J.D. Loudermilk, called "Cold Beer," a swaggering honky tonk number with righteous fiddle work, and you have a pair of oddballs that make the set. Recommended for fans of hardcore country. This is the real stuff.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. All Wrapped Up in Christmas
  2. Winter Wonderland
  3. Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow
  4. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  5. Here Comes Santa Claus
  6. Something in the Air
  7. White Christmas
  8. The Christmas Song
  9. Cold Beer
  10. Frosty the Snowman
purchase full album