August 17, 1992
Country, Contemporary Country, New Traditionalist, Christmas, Holidays

Album Review

One of the most succesful Christmas albums ever, Beyond the Season is a varied collection for a country star, even one as "progressive" as Brooks. The tunes range from a gospel version of "Go Tell It on the Mountain" to a song-play where Brooks's songwriters take the roles of animals in the manger. It's about half traditional and half original, with Brooks co-writing the hardest rocking tune, "The Old Man's Back in Town."
Brian Mansfield, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Go Tell It on the Mountain
  2. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  3. The Old Man's Back in Town
  4. The Gift
  5. Unto You This Night
  6. White Christmas
  7. The Friendly Beasts
  8. Santa Looked a Lot Like Daddy
  9. Silent Night
  10. Mary's Dream
  11. What Child Is This?