June 10, 2008
Country, Honky Tonk, Traditional Country, Bakersfield Sound

Album Review

His years as comedic host of Hee Haw have obscured the fact that Buck Owens was a top-notch honky tonker who, along with Merle Haggard and Owens' guitar player Don Rich, helped establish the bright, rock-inflected Bakersfield sound in the mid-'60s. Having the Beatles cover one of your songs ("Act Naturally") didn't hurt things, either. This two-disc package (each volume is also available individually) has the essential hits from Owens' run with Capitol Records between 1963 and 1971, including "Act Naturally," "Streets of Bakersfield," and "I've Got a Tiger by the Tail," and it works as an OK introduction to this often overlooked artist, but keep in mind that there's a whole lot more to the Buck Owens story than this.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Act Naturally
  2. Streets of Bakersfield
  3. Together Again
  4. Before You Go
  5. Made in Japan
  6. Foolin' Around
  7. I've Got a Tiger by the Tail
  8. Under Your Spell Again
  9. Think of Me
  10. Who's Gonna Mow Your Grass
  11. Excuse Me (I Think I've Got a Heartache)
  12. Big in Vegas
  13. Love's Gonna Live Here
  14. Tall Dark Stranger
  15. Ruby (Are You Mad at Your Man)
  16. Your Tender Loving Care
  17. Second Fiddle
  18. Johnny B. Goode
  19. Above and Beyond
  20. Open Up Your Heart
  21. The Kansas City Song
  22. Where Does the Good Times Go
  23. Gonna Have Love