September 30, 2008
Bridge Nine Records
Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Punk Revival, Post-Hardcore, Alternative/Indie Rock, Punk Metal

Album Review

There was a time when hardcore music was played solely by (and to) a bunch of shirtless and bald tough guys. But over the years, more mainstream sounds and approaches have infiltrated the style -- to the point that "hardcore metal" groups have actually scored honest to goodness hit albums on the Billboard charts (which back in the '80s, would have seemed like a pipe dream). A good example of this aforementioned style would definitely be the Boston-based quintet, Energy, and their 2008 release, Invasions of the Mind. The speedy tempos and sometimes shouted vocals definitely point in the direction of hardcore. However, their almost Beach Boys-y harmonies, appreciation for penning a pop hook, and a sticky sweet production separate them from bands that specialize in nothing but good old-fashioned hardcore -- especially as evidenced on such tracks as "Hunter Red" and "Heaven." While you wouldn't go quite as far as calling Energy "a hardcore boy band," the group's leanings toward the mainstream are undeniable throughout Invasions of the Mind.
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Invasions
  2. Hunter Red
  3. The Silence
  4. Heaven
  5. 400
  6. Contact
  7. Hail the Size of Grapes
  8. 2 Whole Minutes Underwater
  9. The Satellite and the Hit
  10. Revelations
  11. Brickstone