April 04, 1957
Vocal Music, Vocal Jazz, Traditional Pop

Album Review

For this well-rounded CD reissue that adds nine cuts to the original program, Anita O'Day, in her prime period, is mostly heard accompanied by Buddy Bregman & His Orchestra, but there are also a few tracks on which she is joined by a jazz combo featuring trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison. Highlights include "Don't Be That Way," "Stompin' at the Savoy," "Pick Yourself Up," "Sweet Georgia Brown," and "I Won't Dance." Virtually all of Anita O'Day's 1950s recordings are recommended, for her drug use had not yet affected her voice and her creativity was generally at its height.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Don't Be That Way
  2. Let's Face the Music and Dance
  3. I Never Had a Chance
  4. Stompin' at the Savoy
  5. Pick Yourself Up
  6. Stars Fell on Alabama
  7. Sweet Georgia Brown
  8. I Won't Dance
  9. Man with a Horn
  10. I Used to Be Color Blind
  11. There's a Lull in My Life
  12. Let's Begin
  13. I'm with You [*]
  14. The Rock & Roll Waltz [*]
  15. The Getaway and the Chase [*]
  16. Your Picture's Hanging Crooked on the Wall [#][*]
  17. We Laughed at Love [*]
  18. I'm Not Lonely [#][*]
  19. Let's Face the Music and Dance [Alternate Take][*]
  20. Ivy [#][*]
  21. Stars Fell on Alabama [Alternate Take][*]
purchase full album