Jazz, Cool

Album Review

On this reissue CD of a Contemporary set (bassist Leroy Vinnegar's first as a leader), six of the seven songs have the word "walk" in their title, including "Would You Like to Take a Walk," "Walkin' My Baby Back Home," "I'll Walk Alone," and Vinnegar's original "Walk On." Vinnegar actually does not take much solo space and generously features his talented sidemen: vibraphonist Victor Feldman, trumpeter Gerald Wilson, tenor saxophonist Teddy Edwards, pianist Carl Perkins, and drummer Tony Bazley. A fine, straight-ahead session.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Walk On
  2. Would You Like to Take a Walk?
  3. On the Sunny Side of the Street
  4. Walkin'
  5. Walkin' My Baby Back Home
  6. I'll Walk Alone
  7. Walking by the River