Concord Jazz
Jazz, Jazz Instrument, Trumpet Jazz

Album Review

Veteran swing trumpeter Snooky Young's second session as a leader finds him co-leading the date with altoist Marshall Royal. Backed by a very supportive rhythm section (pianist Ross Tompkins, rhythm guitarist Freddie Green, bassist Ray Brown and drummer Louie Bellson), the impressive frontline plays pleasing and melodic solos that occasionally get a little heated. Guest vocalist Scat Man Crothers sings his "Mean Dog Blues"; there are recent originals by Ray Brown and Tom Peterson, along with a three-song ballad medley, and the sextet romps on "I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart," "Limehouse Blues" and "Should I." Subtle and tasteful music.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
  2. Mean Dog Blues
  3. Cederay
  4. Limehouse Blues
  5. Cherry
  6. Medley: You've Changed/I'm Confessin'/Come Sunday
  7. Catch a Star
  8. Should I?