January 25, 1994
Pop/Rock, Roots Rock, Contemporary Folk

Album Review

With less instrumentation than his first solo outing, this makes for a tough listen for those not completely appreciative of Kinney's unique Southern rock voice or the solo folk/blues idiom. The title cut is outstanding, as is "Shindig With the Lord"; the song recalls the excitement of a revival tent set up on the outskirts of town as it winds up and down. It's a sight often seen in the rural South, but as in his other songs, the sight seems to be taken from Kinney's fertile imagination, delivered with his usual urbanity.
Denise Sullivan, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Down and Out Law
  2. Save For Me
  3. Midwestern Blues
  4. Eye of the Hurricane
  5. Shindig With the Lord
  6. Bird
  7. Tell Him Something For Me
  8. Chattahoochie Coochie Man
  9. So Take a Look At Me Now
  10. Mountain Top
  11. Never Far Behind
  12. Epilogue
  13. A Haight Street Beatnik Kerouacian Ripoff In "E"
purchase full album