Blues, Modern Electric Blues

Album Review

The debut issue from two former J. Geils Band members, Bluestime finds Magic Dick and J. Geils still mining their old Chicago blues influences, but with much more depth and sophistication musically. Whereas the J. Geils Band of the '70s would have hammered away at the songs with volume and intensity, Bluestime approaches tunes such as Sonny Boy Williamson's "Pontiac Blues" with a jazz-flavored subtlety. More swinging than rocking, the album proves that both Geils and Magic Dick have lost none of the chops they had in their prime, perhaps even gaining a few over the years.
Steve Kurutz, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Got to Find My Baby
  2. Pontiac Blues
  3. Can't Hold Out Much Longer
  4. She's the No Sleepin'est Woman
  5. The Stuff You Gotta Watch
  6. Nine Below Zero
  7. I Stay in the Mood
  8. Too Young to Die
  9. Little Girl
  10. Full Court Press
  11. (I'm The) Coolest Cat in This Car
  12. Iodine in My Coffee
  13. Roller Coaster/Crazy Legs/I Got to Go