December 20, 2011
Sony Music
Pop/Rock, Country-Rock, Psychedelic, Folk-Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, AM Pop

Album Review

This 14-track set of live recordings by the latter-day Roger McGuinn/Clarence White incarnation of the Byrds is culled from 1970's double-LP Untitled (the first LP was a live recording from a 1970 concert at Queens College while the second LP was a studio recording), 2000's Live at the Fillmore West (recorded in February of 1969), and 2008's Live at Royal Albert Hall (recorded in 1971). This version of the Byrds may not be the best known, but given the wonderful guitar interplay between McGuinn and White, it was certainly the best live unit the band ever toured. Given the different sources for this playlist, it actually hangs together with the arc of a single concert, ending with an epic 15-plus-minute version of "Eight Miles High."
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Lover of the Bayou [Live]
  2. This Wheel's On Fire [Live]
  3. Sing Me Back Home [Live]
  4. Chimes of Freedom [Live]
  5. My Back Pages [Live]
  6. Take a Whiff (On Me) [Live]
  7. Time Between [Live]
  8. Willin' [Album Version] [Live][Version]
  9. He Was a Friend of Mine [Live]
  10. Black Mountain Rag (Soldier's Joy) [Album Version] [Live][Version]
  11. Pretty Boy Floyd [Live]
  12. Ballad of Easy Rider [Live]
  13. Mr. Spaceman [Live]
  14. Eight Miles High [Live]
purchase full album