September 24, 1996
Country, New Traditionalist, Contemporary Country

Album Review

John Michael Montgomery's fourth album, What I Do the Best, doesn't tamper with his hitmaking blueprint at all. Essentially, it follows the same pattern as its three predecessor, relying equally on heart-tugging ballads and clean, up-tempo neo-honky tonk and country-rock. Occasionally, the material is below par and Montgomery's delivery doesn't quite save the weaker songs, yet the best moments of What I Do the Best are among his greatest, blending well-written songs with crisp production and assured singing.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Ain't Got Nothin' on Us
  2. A Few Cents Short
  3. Friends
  4. Lucky Arms
  5. What I Do the Best
  6. Cloud 8
  7. I Can Prove You Wrong
  8. How Was I to Know
  9. Paint the Town Redneck
  10. I Miss You a Little