June 04, 2012
Beat Goes On
Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary, Soft Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

Perspective/In Concert combines two of soft rock band America's last albums for Columbia Records. Included is the band's 1984 synth-heavy release Perspective, as well as the 1985 live album In Concert. Perspective showcases the previously folk-rock-oriented band's move to a more AOR and adult contemporary sound after the '70s. Songs like "We Got All Night," "Special Girl," and "5th Avenue" are melodic, romantic cuts that deftly updated the band's sound to a more slick, sophisticated aesthetic. In Concert features more of duo Gerry Beckley and Dewey Bunnell's classic hits including "Tin Man" and "Ventura Highway," but also features the band performing such '80s hits as "You Can Do Magic." While these are certainly not essential albums in America's discography, they are outstanding soft rock albums that fans will want to check out.
Matt Collar, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. We Got All Night
  2. See How the Love Goes
  3. Can't Fall Asleep to a Lullaby
  4. Special Girl
  5. 5th Avenue
  6. (It's Like You) Never Left at All
  7. Stereo
  8. Lady with a Bluebird
  9. Cinderella
  10. Unconditional Love
  11. Fallin' Off the World
  12. Tin Man
  13. I Need You
  14. The Border
  15. Sister Golden Hair
  16. Company
  17. You Can Do Magic
  18. Ventura Highway
  19. Daisy Jane
  20. Horse with No Name
  21. Survival