April 02, 1996
Rhythm & Blues, Early R&B, New Orleans Blues, Pop-Soul, Piano Blues, Jump Blues, Soul, Southern Soul, Regional Blues, Rock & Roll, New Orleans R&B

Album Review

A generous 30-track sampler drawn from the four-disc, 119-track box set Crescent City Soul: The Sound of New Orleans 1947-1974, this wonderful set is full of energy, history, and the marvelous vitality that has always marked the music of New Orleans. Included here are Fats Domino pounding the piano on "The Fat Man," singing his signature "Ain't That a Shame," and the warm and stirring "Walking to New Orleans," Archibald's energetic piano version of "Stack-A-Lee," Smiley Lewis' definitive rendition of "I Hear You Knockin'," Amos Milburn's loose-limbed and rocking "Chicken Shack Boogie," and Jessie Hill's classic party romp "Ooh Poo Pah Do," among other enduring gems. Technically, It may be a sampler, but it also works as a strong introduction to classic New Orleans R&B and it will make one yearn for the complete box set where even further treasures abound.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Fat Man
  2. 3 x 7 = 21
  3. Stack-A-Lee, Pt. 2
  4. Goin' Home
  5. Bon Ton Roulet [New Bon Ton Roulet]
  6. Toy Bell
  7. Blue Monday
  8. I Didn't Want to Do It
  9. Travelin' Mood
  10. Feel So Good
  11. I Hear You Knocking
  12. Witchcraft
  13. Ain't That a Shame
  14. Let the Good Times Roll
  15. One Night
  16. Chicken Shack Boogie
  17. Let the Four Winds Blow
  18. Sick and Tired
  19. I'm Walkin'
  20. The Monkey
  21. I'm Gonna Be a Wheel Someday
  22. Ooh Poo Pah Doo, Pt. 1
  23. Come On, Pt. 1
  24. Walking to New Orleans
  25. Mother-In-Law
  26. It Will Stand
  27. A Certain Girl
  28. I Know (You Don't Love Me No More)
  29. It's Raining
  30. Fortune Teller