March 25, 1997
Warner Bros.
Jazz, Bop

Album Review

Although released under the name of "The Clayton Brothers" and featuring John Clayton on bass and as producer, the main star throughout this quartet outing (with pianist Bill Cunliffe and drummer Herlin Riley) is Jeff Clayton. Whether playing alto (his main ax), tenor, alto flute or his atmospheric English horn, Clayton is in top form. In addition to a few standards -- including a surprisingly uptempo version of Horace Silver's "Song for My Father," "Summertime," a cooking "I Love You" and a rendition of "The Star-Crossed Lovers" that finds Clayton recalling Johnny Hodges -- there are several worthwhile originals (three by Jeff Clayton). The music overall is boppish, but with plenty of surprising moments, one of the best Jeff Clayton showcases to date.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Tonight I Won't Be Singing No Blues
  2. Jazzy Bluesy Bossa Nova
  3. Song for My Father
  4. Here Today, Here Tomorrow
  5. Londonderry Aire/Lift Every Voice and Sing
  6. Saturday Night Special
  7. Summertime
  8. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child
  9. I Love You
  10. The Star-Crossed Lovers
  11. There Is Music Where You're Going My Friends