March 25, 1997
Jazz, Swing

Album Review

Barney Bigard is one of the great jazz clarinetists. Although most famous for playing in Duke Ellington's band, Bigard performed with a host of lesser bandleaders, giving a series of distinctive, lyrical performances with each. 1944 collects Bigard's performances with the Capitol International Jazzmen, Zutty Singleton's bands, and his time with Roger Kay. Although not as consistently revelatory as his playing with the Duke, these sessions show Bigard to be a master of his instrument, displaying fabulous technique and great lyricism throughout. The Classics label has done a fine job at remastering, and the excellent liner notes round off a nice package.
Thomas Ward, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Sugar
  2. Ain't Goin' No Place
  3. Someday Sweetheart
  4. That Old Feeling
  5. Tea for Two
  6. Steps Steps Up
  7. Steps Steps Down
  8. Moonglow
  9. Oh! Didn't He Ramble
  10. Crawfish Blues
  11. Barney's Bounce
  12. Lulu's Mood
  13. A Portrait of Louise
  14. A Lull at Dawn
  15. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams (And Dream Your Troubles Away)
  16. Soft and Warm
  17. Salty Papa Blues
  18. Evil Gal Blues
  19. Blow Top Blues
  20. Long, Long Journey