November 04, 1997
Country, Contemporary Country

Album Review

If I Don't Stay the Night fulfills the promise of Mindy McCready's debut album Ten Thousand Angels, finding the singer developing a stronger voice, both as a singer and a storyteller. Although McCready doesn't write any original songs, she has selected a set of songs -- ranging from the title track to a cover of Linda Ronstadt's "Long Long Time" -- that establish her as a strong, independent female voice in country music. Furthermore, her voice is growing stronger, turning even the mediocre songs into something special. It's a record that confirms that she is one of the strongest singers in the post-Shania world.
Thom Owens, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. What If I Do
  2. This Is Me
  3. If I Don't Stay the Night
  4. Cross Against the Moon
  5. For a Good Time Call
  6. Oh Romeo
  7. The Other Side of This Kiss
  8. You'll Never Know
  9. Fine Art of Holding a Woman
  10. Only a Whisper
  11. Long, Long Time