RELEASE
January 02, 1998
LABEL
Document
GENRES
Country, Old-Timey

Album Review

As the 1990s drew to a close, someone in charge of the Document label decided it was time to reissue every record they could locate by Georgia's own Fiddlin' John Carson. This amounted to 165 selections, which were doled out chronologically in seven volumes with sound quality ranging from excellent to corrosive. The earliest of these (recorded in 1923 and 1924) are well worth experiencing as some of the very first hillbilly records ever pressed. With a few exceptions, including a battered copy of "Old Sallie Goodman," most of the 23 recordings on volume one are clean enough that the voice and fiddle come through strong, relatively clear, and undiluted. Carson's voice is arrestingly honest and visceral; his fiddle generates penetrating multi-phonic currents that almost seem to purl like bagpipes in the wind from moment to moment. The only other musician on these sides is believed to have been banjoist Land Norris. Carson's playlist is largely stocked with folk and old-timey fiddler's favorites as well as topical tidbits like "The Farmer Is the Man That Feeds Them All," "When Abraham and Isaac Rushed the Can," and "Old Aunt Peggy, Won't You Set ‘Em up Again?" Those who enjoy the pleasures of comparison may want to savor Carson's handling of "The Cat Came Back" and "Billy in the Low Ground" alongside covers recorded a few years later by Kentucky farmer Fiddlin' Doc Roberts. Unfortunately, the 78 rpm platter used for Carson's take of "Cat" had deteriorated to the point where the needle has trouble negotiating the grooves without causing distortion. Hopefully when these historic recordings are reissued again, some sort of noise reduction technology will have improved the playback experience. Most of what's here sounds great and everybody ought to hunker down and connect with these amazing old records.
arwulf arwulf, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Little Old Log Cabin in the Lanehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-little-old-log-cabin-in/id78092588?i=78092464&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. The Old Hen Cackled and the Rooster's Gonna Crowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fiddlin-john-carson-vol-1/id78092588?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. When You and I Were Young, Maggiehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/when-you-i-were-young-maggie/id78092588?i=78092472&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. You'll Never Miss Your Mother Until She's Gonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fiddlin-john-carson-vol-1/id78092588?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Be Kind to a Man When He's Downhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/be-kind-to-a-man-when-hes-down/id78092588?i=78092480&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Billy in the Low Groundhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/billy-in-the-low-ground/id78092588?i=78092499&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Casey Joneshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/casey-jones/id78092588?i=78092501&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Old Sallie Goodmanhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/old-sallie-goodman/id78092588?i=78092503&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Fare You Well Old Joe Clarkhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fare-you-well-old-joe-clark/id78092588?i=78092505&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. The Farmer Is the Man That Feeds Them Allhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-farmer-is-man-that-feeds/id78092588?i=78092507&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Papa's Billy Goathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/papas-billy-goat/id78092588?i=78092510&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. The Kickin' Mulehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-kickin-mule/id78092588?i=78092515&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Nancy Rowlandhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nancy-rowland/id78092588?i=78092519&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Tom Watson Specialhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tom-watson-special/id78092588?i=78092524&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Old and in the Wayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/old-and-in-the-way/id78092588?i=78092527&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Dixie Boll Weevilhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dixie-boll-weevil/id78092588?i=78092531&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. When Abraham and Isaac Rushed the Canhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/when-abraham-isaac-rushed/id78092588?i=78092534&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. The Cat Came Backhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-cat-came-back/id78092588?i=78092538&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. I Got Minehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-got-mine/id78092588?i=78092540&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. Dixie Cowboyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dixie-cowboy/id78092588?i=78092542&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. John Henry Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/john-henry-blues/id78092588?i=78092546&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  22. Arkansas Travelerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/arkansas-traveler/id78092588?i=78092548&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  23. Old Aunt Peggy, Won't You Set 'Em up Again?http://itunes.apple.com/album/old-aunt-peggy-wont-you-set/id78092588?i=78092586&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album