RELEASE
January 02, 1998
LABEL
Document
GENRES
Country, Old-Timey

Album Review

Volume two in Document's seven-part history of Fiddlin' John Carson examines 22 Okeh recordings made in Atlanta and New York between March 1924 and June 1925. Sound quality varies from clear to crusty. On tracks 1, 2, 9, and 10 he is joined by his Virginia Reelers, an indeterminate set of individuals who may have included banjoist Land Norris. The guitarist on the final track ("Sally Ann") has been identified as the fiddler's daughter Rosa Lee Carson. Part of the fun is in the tune selection, as old-timey favorites like "It Ain't Gonna Rain No Mo'," "Turkey in the Straw," "Sugar in the Gourd," "Boil Dem Cabbage Down," and "Alabama Gal (Won't You Come Home Tonight?)" -- a geographically specific "Buffalo Gals" -- alternate with several locomotive-themed songs, instances of cynical humor ("I'm Glad My Wife's in Europe"), and social commentary ("The Death of Floyd Collins"). Early folk and blues lovers may want to compare Carson's version of "Charming Betsy" with that of singing railroad hobo Henry "Ragtime Texas" Thomas. As for "Run Nigger Run," this lively tune was very popular among Georgia fiddlers and was also recorded by Earl Johnson's Clodhoppers and Gid Tanner's Skillet Lickers. What is generally not observed is the fact that "Run Nigger Run" originated among African-American slaves as a tribute to those who escaped captivity and struggled to elude patrols sent out specifically to hunt them down. Hearing it sung by a Southern white man places everything in a different context and may serve as a healthy exercise in understanding why certain words have vastly different connotations depending upon who uses them and why.
arwulf arwulf, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Dixie Divisionhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dixie-division/id78092961?i=78092615&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Sugar in the Gourdhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sugar-in-the-gourd/id78092961?i=78092621&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. The Lightning Expresshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-lightning-express/id78092961?i=78092820&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. I'm Glad My Wife's in Europehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-glad-my-wifes-in-europe/id78092961?i=78092853&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Turkey in the Strawhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/turkey-in-the-straw/id78092961?i=78092855&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Jimmie on the Railroadhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/jimmie-on-the-railroad/id78092961?i=78092862&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Run, Nigger, Runhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/run-nigger-run/id78092961?i=78092868&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. I'm Nine Hundred Miles from Homehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-nine-hundred-miles-from/id78092961?i=78092876&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. It Ain't Gonna Rain No Mo'http://itunes.apple.com/album/it-aint-gonna-rain-no-mo/id78092961?i=78092882&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Alabama Gal (Won't You Come Home Tonight?)http://itunes.apple.com/album/fiddlin-john-carson-vol-2/id78092961?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. The Baggage Coach Aheadhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-baggage-coach-ahead/id78092961?i=78092896&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. The Orphan Childhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-orphan-child/id78092961?i=78092902&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. The Letter Edged in Blackhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-letter-edged-in-black/id78092961?i=78092905&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Steamboat Billhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/steamboat-bill/id78092961?i=78092909&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. It Takes a Little Rain With the Sunshinehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/it-takes-little-rain-with/id78092961?i=78092916&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Old Dan Tuckerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/old-dan-tucker/id78092961?i=78092926&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. Boil Dem Cabbage Downhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/boil-dem-cabbage-down/id78092961?i=78092929&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Old Uncle Nedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/old-uncle-ned/id78092961?i=78092935&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. My North Georgia Homehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-north-georgia-home/id78092961?i=78092939&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. The Death of Floyd Collinshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-death-of-floyd-collins/id78092961?i=78092944&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. Charming Betsyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/charming-betsy/id78092961?i=78092952&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  22. Sally Annhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sally-ann/id78092961?i=78092957&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album