May 19, 1998
Folk, Cowboy, Traditional Folk, Traditional Country, Folk-Pop, Political Folk, Traditional Bluegrass, Old-Timey, Psychedelic, Bluegrass, Singer/Songwriter, Folk-Rock, Contemporary Folk, Americana, Folk Revival, Folksongs

Album Review

As a compilation, this 20-track disc is one of the better recent Vanguard releases, assembling a quartet of key Ian & Sylvia (including "You Were On My Mind" and "Someday Soon") and Mimi and Richard Farina songs, alongside duets between Bob Dylan and Joan Baez at Newport, Bob Gibson and Hamilton Camp, Dylan and Pete Seeger, Flatt & Scruggs, and Doc and Merle Watson. In essence, Vanguard has distilled down some of the highlights of its early catalog and its recent box sets (Joan Baez and Donovan together), and remastered some of the early stuff that needed it. There isn't much more to tell that isn't self-explanatory, except that the range of styles here makes this a good profile of the early 1960s folk boom in all its myriad forms, and a decent starter kit to the rest of the Vanguard catalog from that era.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Early Morning Rain
  2. For Lovin' Me
  3. You Were on My Mind
  4. Someday Soon
  5. Four Strong Winds
  6. Pack up Your Sorrows
  7. The Falcon
  8. Bold Marauder
  9. Hard-Loving Loser
  10. Colours
  11. It Ain't Me Babe
  12. Catch the Wind
  13. Playboys and Playgirls
  14. That's When I'll Come Back to You
  15. Chevrolet
  16. San Antonio Rose
  17. Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
  18. Well, Well, Well
  19. Salty Dog Blues
  20. The Greenland Whale Fisheries