November 01, 1998
Recall (UK)
World, Folksongs, Celtic, British Folk, Sea Shanties, Scottish Folk, Folk Revival

Album Review

Recall's two-disc Ewan MacColl anthology, Antiquities, collects 29 tracks from the folk legend, all of which are taken from the CD reissues of Cooking Vinyl's Naming of Names -- Topical Songs and Black and White, both of which were recorded between 1972 and 1986. All of the material is excellent, with an emphasis on blue-collar workers, bold seamen, doomed lovers, and politics and society.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  2. My Old Man
  3. The Grocer
  4. Cam Ye O'Er Frae France [Recorded Live in Chicago]
  5. Kilroy Was Here
  6. Just the Tax for Me
  7. Ballad of Accounting
  8. Nuclear Means Jobs
  9. The Foggy Dew [Recorded Live in St. Louis]
  10. Looking for a Job
  11. Not Going to Give It Back
  12. Ring the Summer Home
  13. Moving on Song
  14. Highland Muster Roll
  15. Sheath and Knife
  16. We Remember (Naming of Names)
  17. The Manchester Rambler
  18. Economic Miracle
  19. The Island
  20. Maggie Went Green
  21. The Shoals of Herring
  22. The Maid Gaed Tae the Mill
  23. The Press Gang
  24. House Hungry Blues
  25. Dracumag
  26. The Driver's Song
  27. Sellafield Child
  28. Rogues Gallery
  29. The Joy of Living