March 23, 1999
Country, Progressive Country, Outlaw Country, Singer/Songwriter

Album Review

Jerry Jeff Walker's Best of the Vanguard Years collection includes some of his finest songwriting for Circus Maximus as well as his early solo efforts. This album features two versions of his ballad "Fading Lady," one recorded with Circus Maximus and one with the players Walker worked with in Nashville while recording his solo album Driftin' Way of Life. Best of the Vanguard Years also features songs like "Trying to Live Right," "Negative Dreamer Girl" and "No Roots in Ramblin'," which hint at the influence Walker would have on country and folk-rock groups for years to come.
Heather Phares, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Driftin' Way of Life
  2. Mr. Bojangles [#]
  3. Louise [#]
  4. Morning Song to Sally
  5. Come Outside, Believe in It
  6. People Play Games
  7. Hansel and Gretel
  8. Fading Lady
  9. Mixtures
  10. Shell Game
  11. North Cumberland Blues
  12. Let It Ride
  13. Dust on My Boots
  14. Old Road
  15. Gertrude
  16. Ramblin', Scramblin'
  17. No Roots in Ramblin'
  18. Trying to Live Right
  19. Lost Sea Shanty
  20. Oops I Can Dance