RELEASE
February 22, 2000
LABEL
Columbia/Legacy
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Country-Rock, Folk-Rock, Psychedelic, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

Recorded by Columbia engineers in February 1969, this is an early show by the first Byrds lineup to feature only one original member: founding member Roger McGuinn and Clarence White on guitars, John York on bass, and Gene Parsons on drums. Despite the recent departures of Chris Hillman and Gram Parsons for the Flying Burrito Brothers, the sound and repertoire are still very much in the Byrds' country-rock phase, many of the 16 tracks coming from the Sweetheart of the Rodeo and Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde albums. The big mid-'60s hits are revisited in a medley, and a few other songs first recorded in the pre-White days -- "So You Want to Be a Rock 'n' Roll Star" and "Chimes of Freedom" among them -- also show up. There are also covers of Merle Haggard and Buck Owens tunes that would not show up on Byrds albums. It's a pleasant but not outstanding set, probably of most interest to those who enjoy White's guitar playing. He and McGuinn work pretty well together here, but the timing of the band as a whole is sometimes tenuous, and the vocal harmonies are not as full as those of other Byrds configurations.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Nashville Westhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nashville-west/id281810375?i=281810487&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. You're Still on My Mindhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/youre-still-on-my-mind/id281810375?i=281810488&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Pretty Boy Floydhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/pretty-boy-floyd/id281810375?i=281810489&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Drug Store Truck Drivin' Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/drug-store-truck-drivin-man/id281810375?i=281810491&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Medley: Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is a Season)/Mr ...http://itunes.apple.com/album/live-at-fillmore-february/id281810375?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Close up the Honkey Tonkshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/live-at-fillmore-february/id281810375?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Buckaroohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/buckaroo/id281810375?i=281810495&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. The Christian Lifehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-christian-life/id281810375?i=281810497&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Time Betweenhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/time-between/id281810375?i=281810498&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. King Apathy IIIhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/king-apathy-iii/id281810375?i=281810499&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Bad Night at the Whiskeyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bad-night-at-the-whiskey/id281810375?i=281810500&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. This Wheel's on Firehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/this-wheels-on-fire/id281810375?i=281810503&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Sing Me Back Homehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sing-me-back-home/id281810375?i=281810504&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. So You Want to Be a Rock 'n' Roll Starhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/so-you-want-to-be-rock-n-roll/id281810375?i=281810505&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. He Was a Friend of Minehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/he-was-a-friend-of-mine/id281810375?i=281810507&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Chimes of Freedomhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/chimes-of-freedom/id281810375?i=281810510&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album