September 26, 2000
Pop/Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Rock & Roll, Album Rock, Country-Rock, Psychedelic, Folk-Rock

Album Review

The Band was a very album-oriented group, and only had two Top 40 hit singles. So one could argue that a single-disc greatest hits compilation, or best-of anthology as this might more properly be called, is not the optimum way to dig into their repertoire. But if you're limiting yourself to one Band collection and your budget or patience does not stretch for the two-CD To Kingdom Come set, this 18-song program hits all the famous buttons, including "The Weight," "Chest Fever," "Up on Cripple Creek," "The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down," "The Shape I'm In," "Stage Fright," and "When I Paint My Masterpiece." Naturally, it leans most heavily on their first two albums, which supply four songs each. Good, lengthy liner notes by Rob Bowman are a nice bonus, considering that single-disc career-spanning overviews often dispense with such frills. Strange, though, that "Don't Do It," their one Top 40 hit single other than "Up on Cripple Creek," isn't here; in fact, there's nothing from their live Rock of Ages.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Weight
  2. Tears of Rage
  3. Chest Fever
  4. I Shall Be Released
  5. Up on Cripple Creek
  6. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  7. Rag Mama Rag
  8. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
  9. The Shape I'm In
  10. Stage Fright
  11. Time to Kill
  12. Life Is a Carnival
  13. When I Paint My Masterpiece
  14. Ain't Got No Home
  15. It Makes No Difference
  16. Ophelia
  17. Acadian Driftwood
  18. The Saga of Pepote Rouge