Universal Distribution
Rhythm & Blues, Soul

Album Review

A former member of Delaney & Bonnie's backup band, as well as a member of Derek & the Dominoes, Bobby Whitlock's first solo record treads much of the same ground. With contributions from Delaney Bramlett, Whitlock turns in a solid effort filled with southern gospel influences ("A Day Without Jesus") and rootsy rockers. On the mournful ballad "Dreams of a Hobo" Whitlock shows that all his good material was not spent on the Derek & the Dominoes project. Though long out of print, this record is worth searching out for its encapsulation of early-'70s southern roots rock.
Steve Kurutz, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Where There's a Will There's a Way
  2. Song for Paula
  3. A Game Called Life
  4. Country Life
  5. A Day Without Jesus
  6. Back in My Life Again
  7. The Scenery Has Slowly Changed
  8. I'd Rather Live the Straight Life
  9. Ease Your Pain
  10. Back Home in England
purchase full album