September 04, 2001
Spitfire Records
Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Hair Metal, Pop-Metal, Hard Rock

Album Review

Twisted Sister's second album of live performances and demos from their pre-fame days shows a band torn between two sounds. On one hand, the band can play sloppy, Dictators-inspired hard rock that has aged, but still retains an undeniable quality about it. On the other hand, they can sound like a generic '70s metal band, which is a sound that is not only dated, but rather boring when not in the hands of a better-known act. Of course, both sounds would eventually combine into their glammy style of heavy metal, but they still had not figured that out quite yet. So songs like "You Know I Cry" are rather pedestrian, sounding more like a watered-down Iron Maiden then Twisted Sister. But then there are songs like "Lady's Boy," a swaggering rocker with a winding bassline and clever lyrics. Fans of the band will want this for the obvious reasons, but the casual listener will probably not find anything here worth the purchase of the album; there are better albums by the band.
Bradley Torreano, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Never Say Never (2001 Recording)
  2. Blastin' Fast and Loud [2001 Recording]
  3. Follow Me
  4. Under the Blade
  5. Lady's Boy
  6. Come Back
  7. Can't Stand Still
  8. Honey, Look Three Times
  9. You Know I Cry
  10. Without You
  11. Plastic Money
  12. Long Tall Sally
  13. Johnny B. Goode
purchase full album