September 18, 2001
Sony Music Distribution
Country, Contemporary Country, New Traditionalist

Album Review

Fans of McBride who have waited a long time for a greatest-hits album from the always-fresh, always-captivating McBride won't be disappointed. A stellar collection packed with 18 songs: 14 previously recorded smashes and four new, striking originals. Perhaps the greatest voice in contemporary country music, McBride revisits popular favorites from her last four platinum albums -- from her 1994 Top Ten breakthrough "My Baby Loves Me" through to the propulsive "Love's the Only House." And in between, McBride's incomparable voice belts out a generous mix of familiar favorites, like "Independence Day," "Wild Angels," "Valentine," "Happy Girl," and "Whatever You Say." McBride's magnetic vocals and unmatched artistry reinforce her musical dominance with new songs, such as "Where Would You Be," "Concrete Angel," and "Blessed." A brilliant career retrospective and a must-have for fans.
Maria Konicki Dinoia, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. My Baby Loves Me
  2. Life #9
  3. Independence Day
  4. Strangers
  5. Safe in the Arms of Love
  6. Wild Angels
  7. Valentine
  8. A Broken Wing
  9. Happy Girl
  10. Wrong Again
  11. Whatever You Say
  12. I Love You
  13. Love's the Only House
  14. There You Are
  15. When God-Fearin' Women Get the Blues (Intro) [#]
  16. When God-Fearin' Women Get the Blues [#]
  17. Where Would You Be [#]
  18. Concrete Angel [#]
  19. Blessed [#]
purchase full album