February 05, 2002
Country, New Traditionalist, Contemporary Country

Album Review

In February of 2002, Warner/Rhino offered up two Travis Tritt compilations, one spotlighting his "Rockin' Side," the other his "Lovin' Side." Titles don't come much clearer than that, so it shouldn't come as a surprise that both compilations deliver on their promise without straying from their template. Because they stick to a theme, neither has all of his hits, but that's not a problem since the selected hits -- in this case, tunes like "Help Me Hold On" and "More Than You Will Ever Know" -- are surrounded by sharp selections from his albums, giving each compilation a surprisingly well-rounded feel. If The Lovin' Side isn't as successful as The Rockin' Side, it's because Tritt sounds more engaged on up-tempo material, and his ballads often aren't as compelling as his rockers, but it has to be said that this does sustain a smooth, romantic mood quite well. Note that this really does take "lovin'" seriously, meaning that honky tonk numbers (and big hits) like "Country Club" and "Here's a Quarter (Call Someone Who Cares)" are entirely absent, but those looking for either the "Rockin' Side" or "Lovin' Side" of Travis Tritt will find either volume satisfying.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. For You
  2. When I Touch You
  3. I'm All the Man
  4. Only You (And You Alone)
  5. More Than You'll Ever Know
  6. If I Lost You
  7. Someone for Me
  8. Can I Trust You with My Heart
  9. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
  10. Between an Old Memory and Me
  11. Nothing Short of Dying
  12. Help Me Hold On
  13. Anymore
  14. Did You Fall Far Enough
  15. Drift Off to Dream
  16. She's Going Home With Me