January 30, 2006
Sony BMG
Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

This ten-song Janis Joplin compilation from the EU is nearly perfect as an introduction, and offers an excellent price point for the consumer to boot. It contains the original versions of her best-known tunes, and thankfully leaves "Mercedes Benz" off the set. It also includes one rather obscure number in "One Night Stand" at the very end that the compilation producers were really savvy to include. Given that it's only ten tracks, this is about as good as it really gets. For those who want to go a bit deeper, the Essential Janis Joplin is more satisfying in that it contains two defining cuts that aren't here in Joplin's reading of the American Songbook classic "Summertime" and the stellar Nina Simone-associated number "Little Girl Blue."
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Piece of My Heart
  2. Cry Baby
  3. Me and Bobby McGee
  4. Try (Just a Little Bit Harder)
  5. One Good Man
  6. Move Over
  7. I Need a Man to Love
  8. Turtle Blues
  9. A Woman Left Lonely
  10. One Night Stand
purchase full album