Warner Bros.
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Roots Rock, College Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Pop

Album Review

Chris Isaak's debut album, Silvertone, named after his three-piece backup group, sets the pattern for his subsequent albums in its meticulously constructed retro sound. Isaak enters a time machine and emerges around 1960, when Roy Orbison is ruling the charts with his melodramatic ballads and Elvis Presley has just returned from the Army. Of course, what passed for a style 25 years before is in Isaak's hands stylization, and when he wails in an Orbison falsetto of romantic desperation, then does a flat, Presley-like recitation in the album-closing "Western Stars," it all seems over the top. But he is just about sincere enough to pull it off, and James Calvin Wilsey is a strong enough guitarist to keep the arrangements on track. So, to the extent that you can resist the "Is this guy kidding?" impression, the music is appealing.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Dancin'
  2. Talk to Me
  3. Livin' for Your Lover
  4. Back on Your Side
  5. Voodoo
  6. Funeral in the Rain
  7. The Lonely Ones
  8. Unhappiness
  9. Tears
  10. Gone Ridin'
  11. Pretty Girls Don't Cry
  12. Western Stars
  13. Another Idea [*]